Progress Housing Group’s Claire Goodworth was declared the winner of the Young Achiever - Housing & Community Development award at this year’s prestigious Women in Housing awards, held in Manchester on 3rd November.

The Women in Housing Awards celebrate and recognise the achievements of female professionals from both the public and private housing sectors. They attracted an impressive 250+ nominations across 10 award categories this year.

In the Young Achiever category, the judges were looking for an individual who demonstrated their understanding of the housing sector, the wider needs of the community in which they work and how they have fully engaged with the whole community.

Claire started work with Progress Housing Group when she was 18 as an Administration Assistant and then became a young Housing Trainee. During her 10 years with the organisation, Claire has held a variety of posts – including Homelessness Officer, Arrears Officer, a secondment as a Community Involvement Manager and Progress Futures Officer - and has always tackled them with passion, commitment, enthusiasm.  She puts customers at the heart of everything that she does, impressing customers, colleagues and the wider community alike with her dedication and professional approach.

Progress Housing Group also had two other finalists at the Women in Housing Awards, - Clare House women’s refuge in the Most Effective Project in Improving the Lives of Women or Communities award and Janet Hale, Chair of Progress Housing Group in the Most Effective Woman Board Member category.

Jacqui De-Rose, Chief Executive of Progress Housing Group said:

'We are thrilled that we had three shortlisted awards for our work with women across our services. These are prestigious awards and they recognise that it is crucial to tackle inequalities in our society. Congratulations to all our shortlisted women and to Claire in particular for her achievement in winning her category.'

Photo - Maggie Rafalowicz, Associate Director at Campbell Tickell sponsored the Young Achiever award and presented it to Claire alongside guest speaker Lorraine Pascale