Shortlist revealed for South Ribble Community Awards

Thursday 16 January 2020 

South Ribble Community Awards: Shortlist announced ahead of 24 January ceremony​

Logo For The South Ribble Community Awards 2020

SOUTH Ribble’s finest teachers, volunteers, community groups and businesses are to be recognised later this month at an awards ceremony highlighting those who ‘consistently go above or beyond their call of duty’.

The South Ribble Community Awards – to be held on Friday 24 January at the Civic Centre in Leyland – will pay tribute to the amazing work of young people, volunteers, people in the community and supporters of those living with dementia, as recipients are announced across 11 different categories.

Following the close of nominations on 13 December 2019, a panel met to discuss who most deserved shortlisting.

The judging panel consisted of representatives from this year’s sponsors: Birchall Blackburn Law, Leyland Festival, Lancashire Adult Learning, My Neighbourhood Forums, Lovell Homes, UCLan, Runshaw College, South Ribble Borough Council, Progress Housing Group, and C & W Berry Ltd.

The South Ribble Community Awards are organised by the South Ribble Partnership – the local strategic partnership for South Ribble which brings together people from across the public sector, businesses, voluntary groups, and community organisations.

Jacqueline De-Rose, Chair of the South Ribble Partnership and Group Chief Executive at Progress Housing Group, said: “Congratulations to everyone that was nominated. It was a difficult decision, but we have now arrived at a shortlist, with three people shortlisted in each category.

“With over 200 nominations, this was incredibly tough, and I was astounded by the inspirational work going on in South Ribble. I want to thank people for submitting their nominations and pay tribute to the worthy causes and activities which people are dedicating themselves to on a weekly, even daily, basis.

“We are satisfied that the shortlist represents the very best in the borough, and we can’t wait to announce the recipients on 24 January.”

Councillor Paul Foster, Vice-Chair of the South Ribble Partnership and Leader of South Ribble Borough Council, said: “A glance at the shortlist reveals some really significant employers, organisations, and community groups based here in South Ribble – such as Leyland Trucks and C & W Berry – but the awards also aim to shine a light on some of the unsung heroes in the borough.

“I’m sure we’ll hear some great stories at the awards ceremony about people’s sacrifice and dedication to their charity, community group or business.

“I would like to say a massive thank-you to all the sponsors – Birchall Blackburn Law, Leyland Festival, Lancashire Adult Learning, My Neighbourhood Forums, Lovell Homes, UCLan, Runshaw College, South Ribble Borough Council, Progress Housing Group, and C & W Berry Ltd.

“It’s really important to celebrate the fantastic things happening in our communities – South Ribble has always been home to some of the North West’s best charities, sports clubs, businesses and volunteers – so I am really looking forward to attending the awards ceremony on 24 January.”

Who has been shortlisted for this year’s South Ribble Community Awards? See below.

Volunteer of the Year (Sponsored by South Ribble Borough Council):

Loretta Whitely (Moss Side Community Centre and Leyland Animal Issues)
Joan Musker (Wade Hall Community Centre)
Paul Morris (Penwortham Boxing Club)​

Young Volunteer of the Year (sponsored by Progress Housing Group):

Megan Sumner and Chloe Leeland (The Base Community Centre)
William Bamford (Galloway’s)
Elle Manley (The Place Community Centre)​

Spirit of the Community (sponsored by My Neighbourhoods, South Ribble Borough Council):

Derek and Margaret Thompson (Longton St Andrew’s Community Hall)
Sharon Mclaughlin (Supporting a neighbour)
Jose Booth (Longton WI)​

Special Achievement (sponsored by C&W Berry):

Andrea Andrews (The Base Community Centre)
Barbara Bidwell (Leyland in Bloom and Leyland Priory Food Bank)
Michael and Mary Helm (Walton Park)​

Teacher of the Year (sponsored by Lancashire Adult Learning):

Rosie Stone (Cop Lane Primary School)
Mike Mitchell (Seven Stars Primary School)
Beth Ackers (Penwortham Priory Academy)​​

Dementia Friend of the Year (sponsored by Birchall Blackburn Law):

Judy Carter (The Dunkirk Hall – Dementia Afternoon Tea)
Keith McIntosh (Sporting Memories)
Brian Ashman (Radio Leyland – Magic Moments)​

Dementia Friendly Organisation of the Year (sponsored by Birchall Blackburn Law):

St Mary’s Catholic High School (Dementia Café)
Charnley Fold Day Support (Age Concern Central Lancashire)
Right at Home Preston and South Ribble​

Partnership Excellence (sponsored by Leyland Festival):

South Ribble Integrated Team
The Mid Lancs Colt Junior Football League
The Ukeleylanders​

The Response Service Extra Mile (sponsored by Progress Housing Group):

SR8 First Aid
Key Unlocking Futures and South Ribble Borough Council (Holiday Hunger Programme)
Russell Crook (Blood bikes)​

Apprentice Employer of the Year (sponsored by Lovell):

Leyland Trucks
Progress Housing Group
The Spectacle Factory Ltd​

Business in the Community (sponsored by UCLan):

C & W Berry
The Golden Ball of Longton
Progress Housing Group​

Special Recognition Awards (sponsored by Runshaw College):

Healthy Workplace: Active Lancashire
Raising Awareness: Rebecca Ramsey​

(Special Recognition Awards are not subject to a shortlist)