Winners of Progress Housing Group’s first Community Champion Awards revealed!

On Friday 26 March 2021, more than 70 guests celebrated virtually at Progress Housing Group’s very first Community Champion Awards to recognise the voluntary work and achievements of local volunteers, fundraisers, voluntary and community groups and charities.

91 nominations were received by the Group’s Involvement Team with winners in each category chosen by a team of peer-led judges made up of Progress Housing Group tenants.

Jacqui De-Rose, Chief Executive of Progress Housing Group, who hosted the awards evening, said: “I was honoured to be part of the Group’s very first Community Champion Awards and to recognise the amazing work of our local voluntary and community sector.

“Celebrating the selfless work of so many individual and young volunteers who give up their time and work so hard and so tirelessly to support their neighbours and communities, was truly humbling.

“The positive impact that these groups and volunteers has, and the difference they make to the lives of so many people, cannot be underestimated – especially during the difficult times experienced by so many during the pandemic.”

Receiving ‘Gold’ awards for supporting their local communities in the ‘Voluntary Group of the Year’ category were The Base Community Centre and Lancashire Positive Minds.

Andrea Andrews, Youth and Community Worker at Key Unlocking Futures, who manages The Base said: “I am incredibly proud of the whole team at The Base for what we’ve achieved so far, and very excited for what we have planned!

“It is an honour to work with such an amazing group of people who volunteer their time to make such a huge difference to the lives of people living in and around Broadfield in Leyland.

“A huge thank you to everyone who nominated The Base Community Centre – we are overwhelmed to be recognised! Thank you.”

Susie Marsden, who is the founder of Lancashire Positive Minds, a support group for parents and carers who support young people through mental health difficulties, said: “It is really wonderful to be recognised amongst so many deserving voluntary and community groups.

"I could not be more proud of our group, our members and our parent leads and what we have achieved in our first year. We are absolutely thrilled to receive this award - thank you to everyone who nominated us.”

Picking up a Gold award for raising more than £5,000 for New Day Church foodbank to help people in his local area of Lostock Hall, Young Volunteer of the Year winner, Joshua, said: “Thank you so much for this recognition, I’m made up! I hope this makes everyone with special needs proud and helps prove that nothing can stop you if you put your mind to it!”

Fellow Young Volunteer of the Year Gold award winner, Jacoby, who said that his volunteering has really helped improve his confidence, added: “When I heard that I’d won a gold award, I couldn't believe it - it was overwhelming! I never thought that I would have a chance at winning – thank you!”

Huge congratulations to all our nominees and winners!

The full list of Progress Community Champion Award winners can be found below:

Voluntary Group of the Year Award

Highly Commended winners:

Leyland Foodbank
High Five
Leyland In Bloom
Radio Leyland
Leyland Sporting Memories
New Day Church
Team Dad


Bronze winners:

Tippy Toes Baby Bank
Lower Lane Foodbank
Miles for Smiles
Bowland Rescue


Silver winners:

Wade Hall Community Association
DENW (Disability Equality North West) volunteer PPE Delivery Drivers
St Andrews Sports Life
Community Network &Outreach Service


Gold winners:

The Base Community Centre
Lancashire Positive Minds

Volunteer of the Year Award

Highly Commended winners:

Susie Marsden
Annmarie Murray
Sophie Wilding
David Williams
Graham Simms
Janet Dalton


Bronze winners:

Jason Lamb
Val Johnson
Neil Bottomley
Sam Beattie
Samantha Cragg
Sian Haddon


Silver winners:

Barry Wade
Celia Neal
Neil Mellor


Gold winners:

Stephen Wilson
Joan Musker
Craig Lewis

Young Volunteer Award

Silver winners:

Callum& Elizabeth
Grace & Emily


Gold winners: