Last week, we held our Progress Community Champion Awards as a way of saying a big ‘thank you’ to all the many volunteers who have worked so hard to support our local communities throughout the year.

Our judges had a great time reading the inspirational stories behind the nominations.  There has been so many wonderful projects and people who make a real difference in their community.

It was fantastic to see more than 30 people attend our virtual award ceremony on Zoom. It was a pleasure to be able to share stories and recognise everyone’s hard work.

Congratulations to all the winners:


Voluntary Group of the Year Award

Gold £200

Community Network and Outreach Service

St Mary’s Community Centre

The Base on Broadfield


Silver £100

Radio Leyland


Highly Commended £25

Wade Hall Community Centre


Volunteer of the Year Award

Gold £100

Barbara Bidwell

Stephen Wilson

Sophie Wilding


Silver £50

Jean Bolton

Andrew Grant Salmon

Rebecca Gammon


Bronze £25

Darren Salmon

Pat Lewis


Highly Commended £15

Christine Doward Knowles

Jasroop Gupt Siva

Jo Sloan

Joan Musker

Stuart Grice

Gemma Leeland

Louise Peacock

Dawn Toates


Young Volunteer of the Year

Gold £100

Chloe Leeland

Megan Sumner

MJ Dudley


If you know someone who has given up their time to support their community and would like them to be recognised, watch out for next year’s Community Champion Awards and put them forward.


If you are a voluntary group providing support to your local community and you are looking for funding, please contact the Progress Involvement Team on 03333 204555 or email